San Francisco To Dubai - Worth The Move?

Topic locked
San Francisco to Dubai - Worth the move? Sep 13, 2007
Hey, I am a recent graduate from Berkeley currently living in San Francisco. I applied to an entry level position in Dubai at a local architecture firm. Got the job and they are offering 24K annual with accommodation and transportation to/from work. Do you think this is a good offer? Appreciate the feedback! Thanks!

Mazdaspeedx3
Dubai Forum Guest

Sep 13, 2007
If you are single - yes
scarlet
Dubai Forums Veteran

Sep 13, 2007
For a recent graduate, very good offer around here. Although I don't know, but maybe you can do better in USA itself?
gtmash
Dubai forums GURU

Re: San Francisco to Dubai - Worth the move? Sep 13, 2007
Mazdaspeedx3 wrote:Hey, I am a recent graduate from Berkeley currently living in San Francisco. I applied to an entry level position in Dubai at a local architecture firm. Got the job and they are offering 24K annual with accommodation and transportation to/from work. Do you think this is a good offer? Appreciate the feedback! Thanks!

Wait a minute, that's 24K per year? On which currency? It can't be AED for sure.
If it's USD (about 2K/month = 7340 AED/month), if your accommodation and transportation have been taken care of, then you'll be Ok if you're single (can save few thousands) but not a very good offer. After all, you're a fresher, so you may have to suck it up.
xty
Dubai Forums Veteran

Sep 13, 2007
but back in San fran he'd have to pay taxes, rent and transpo himself. so while the amount doesnt seem very high, its a good package for recent grad.
nuzbim
Dubai forums Addict

Sep 13, 2007
I'm really appreciating the feedback..here in the States, for a junior architect..median salary is around 35K. And the rent here in San Francisco is ridiculous. And yes I am single, so it seems I could save some money.
Mazdaspeedx3
Dubai Forum Guest

Sep 13, 2007