Buying An Old Banger

Topic locked
Buying an old banger May 18, 2006
Hello all, can anyone give me some advice on buying on old car ?
I just want to buy something cheap and quickly as a second car and I was looking for a 10 year old car. After trawling though the ads I noticed that a lot of them make a big deal about how long the car is registered for, so my question is this: what is the law on owning old cars ? Does it become difficult to reregister them after a certain age ? Also what are my responsibilities when the car comes to the end of its life and has to be sent to the big junkyard in the sky ?
PS In case you're interested I'm thinking of getting an old volvo (yes thats right, I'm new to Dubai and I want to keep myself safe)

homie
Dubai Forum Visitor

May 19, 2006
Cars are tested every year as part of the registration process so in that sense you have to make sure it is in good mechanical shape but age alone I don't believe is an issue for registration, I registered a 1988 car without issues.

What you will notice though is it will be difficult to find a place that will give full insurance to any car 10 years old (i'm being nice, you won't find a place that will insure you except PLPD), although i'm not sure you would want to.

Good luck
fayz
Dubai Forums Knight
Location: take a left at the Bebsi interchange, that is the Bebsi interchange

May 19, 2006
Thanks, I thought it might be an insurance issue. But if I only want to get minimum legal insurance to cover third parties, would that be OK ?
And tell me please, who are PLPD ?
homie
Dubai Forum Visitor

May 19, 2006
Oh, when I read the title of this thread I thought that Arnie was up for sale :lol:
kanelli
Miss DubaiForums 2006

May 19, 2006
homie wrote:Thanks, I thought it might be an insurance issue. But if I only want to get minimum legal insurance to cover third parties, would that be OK ?
And tell me please, who are PLPD ?