What Do You Think Of This Job Offer?

Topic locked
What do you think of this job offer? Dec 22, 2007
So I got an offer from a company in dubai. I am a civil engineer specializing in precast concrete with 9.5 years of large construction experience. I have designed jobs up to 30 million dollars and part of team right now doing a 73million dollar structure.
The offer is:

17500 AED Salary
7500 AED Housing Allowance
2500 AED Car Allowance

Can anyone comment on this and let me know if I am being low balled. Is the car allowance too low to be driving a nice car? Is the housing allowance too low to live somewhere decent? Is 17500 AED take home money a good salary? How much of that 17500 AED would be spent a month on groceries/gas/entertainment? Should I be expecting more?

canadianguy
Dubai Forum Visitor

Re: What do you think of this job offer? Dec 22, 2007
canadianguy wrote:So I got an offer from a company in dubai. I am a civil engineer specializing in precast concrete with 9.5 years of large construction experience. I have designed jobs up to 30 million dollars and part of team right now doing a 73million dollar structure.
The offer is:

17500 AED Salary
2500 AED Car Allowance

Can anyone comment on this and let me know if I am being low balled. Is the car allowance too low to be driving a nice car? Is the housing allowance too low to live somewhere decent? Is 17500 AED take home money a good salary? How much of that 17500 AED would be spent a month on groceries/gas/entertainment? Should I be expecting more?

Sounds low if you are a real civil engineer [graduated from an acredited school, etc. - loads of fakers in Dubai]. As you are over 30 years old you should get a bit more perhaps.

Neverthelless, I've met at least one Architect who made 5,000 dhs per months for a year.