New To The Forum...have Some Questions

Topic locked
New to the forum...have some questions Oct 03, 2008
Hey there,

New to the forum and like many of you, have decided or thought about moving to Dubai for employment.

I just have some questions.

I'm Canadian and planning a 1 mth trip to Dubai in Nov. to look for employment. Can someone advise me of where will be the ideal area to stay while looking for employment? (Close to some Recruitment agencies)

I read in some posts that attesting for the degrees can be done in the UAE by Emirate Post, then read again that this process has been canceled, so how have some of you gotten your degree/certs attested?

I have 7 years of working experience in logistics/supply chain and product development, does anyone know with this type of experience, how difficult it is to land a gig?

Thanks in advance much appreciated.

CANMAN
Dubai Forum Visitor

Oct 07, 2008
Hi,

I believe you need a little more than 1 month to look for a job. Give yourself at least 2 months. Make sure you find yourself a good recruitment agency as they can help immensely.

The best option would be to stay in Sharjah as it's the cheapest. Allowing you to stay longer if you wish.

In terms of degree attestation, Empost does not offer this service anymore. Have it done in Ottawa in the following order:

1. Department of Foreign Affairs. If you send your degree via mail, it takes up to 25 working days. Whereas if you go in person, they do it on the spot.

2. UAE embassy in Ottawa. You need to sign a consent form and pay a 50 dollar fee. Make sure you call your university prior to sending it to the embassy as they need to verify with them that you are indeed a graduate.

3. Department of foreign affairs in UAE. Done on the spot.