Divorce In UAE - What Are A Father's Custody Rights?

Topic locked
Divorce in UAE - what are a father's custody rights? Apr 09, 2012
I am a UAE non-national resident, Christian and the sponsor for my wife (who is the same). We were married in the UK 3 years ago, and came to Dubai 10 months ago.

She wants a divorce. We have 3 children. Only the youngest is mine, a daughter aged 18 months. My wife wants to leave for the UK asap. I do not want her to take my daughter and I am worried she will do this while I am unaware.

How can I stop my wife doing this? More importantly, how can I win custody of my child and keep her in the UAE where her future is much much brighter? She will go back to the life we had in the UK which believe me, is far less rosy than the future I can provide for her here.

Please advise where i can get professional help here. Internet browsing has proven fruitless and confusing.

Thank you.

Irishjay
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Re: Divorce In UAE - What Are A Father's Custody Rights? Apr 09, 2012
Irishjay ,

So sorry to hear about your situation. You need to get in touch with a lawyer ASAP. Is the passport for her and the child with you or does she have possession? She can't travel without a passport. If they are in her possession, I believe you can put a travel ban on her and the child. The UAE generally favors the father when it comes to custody of children, but then again, it may have something to do with the grounds for divorce, I'm not sure.

I know this will seems odd, but there is a forum expatwoman.com where you can search and read all the posts. Generally it has to do with women wanting custody of the children which involves a custody battle. If necessary you can even create an account and post your situation. There are some very informed women on that forum who can probably point you in the right direction. Don't worry, they won't turn on you. Hopefully you don't recognize your wife being a member!!!

Good luck to you.
Bora Bora
Dubai OverLord