A Great Deal Of Naivete

Topic locked
a great deal of naivete Jan 31, 2009
i have been browsing this forum for a few months now and it seems to me that a great number of ppl on here are insanely naive when it comes to relationships and love....i mean we all know why the local isn't going to marry you or the the expat has ended the relationship when it was time to leave the job...what makes you think things are going to be different in your case...sure hope for the best but don't be running around hoping for fairytales
and the funniest posts are the ones asking about what arabs think of certain ethnic groups....if you've lived in the middle east long enough you know exactly what the hierarchies of ethnic groups are...so stop fooling yourselves
or maybe i just managed to only read the woe is me posts....

barbarella
Dubai Forums Member

Feb 01, 2009
Talk about harsh!
Chocoholic
Miss DubaiForums 2005

Feb 01, 2009
Sometimes, harsh is good. Not just for S&M fetishists but also for those who continually dive headlong into obviously bad relationships. I'm not talking about relationships that go sour; I'm referring to those that look bad from the get-go.

Case in point: a certain lady friend of mine was involved with a guy who lived in my dorm in college. Well, they didn't last and so she moved on to another guy in my dorm. Then word got out that she was easy so everyone tried to get a piece of that. And she was upset that every one of these guys was just using her. I bluntly told her that she needed to stay out of the dorm for her men because everyone knew about her.

She's now engaged to a guy she met later that semester. He didn't live in my dorm.
gamercowboy
Dubai forums Addict

Feb 01, 2009
You also have to remember that some people who come here are, emotionally and relationship wise, comparatively inexperienced.