Fresh Grad Package-NEED ADVICE!!!!

Topic locked
Fresh grad package-NEED ADVICE!!!! Dec 01, 2007
I'm a 24 yo fresh graduate female single Malaysian.

I've been hired to work for a bank in Sharjah and will be coming here as an expat on the 5th January 2008.

Before this offer came along I worked in software company in Malaysia, with a much lower salary, for 3 months. Other than this, I have no working experience whatsoever.

The company in Sharjah has offered me a total salary of AED12,150.00 which includes housing allowance,living allowance,transportation allowance and W & E allowance.

Annual leave is 25 days/annum and they will pay for airfare (as well as hubby,if I had one) once a year to my point of origin.

Other perks include gratuity,life and medical insurance,and yearly bonus. Is this enough for me to get by in Sharjah??

Also can someone please help give me the break up expenditures for me?

1. Cost of rental. I'd like to find a small studio or a 1bedroom apartment,fully/semi furnished if possible in Sharjah.

2. Food.I don't really eat a lot and I can cook simple meals but I'd like to go out at least once a week to have meals outside with friends.

3. Bills. (Wireless internet,W & E,Cable,etc).

4. Transportation. I'd like to go to Dubai at least once a week or so to chill out with friends. And since I'll be working and staying in Sharjah would it be better for me to buy a car or take the public transportation?Would it be safe for me to take a cab at night from Sharjah-Dubai-Sharjah?I'm concerned about this because in Malaysia it is highly inadvisable for single/married women to go in a cab at night.

5. Entertainment. I'm a social smoker and drinker but can live without either of them with the exception or maybe 2 3 times a month.

6. Savings. Single most important question- Can I SAVE any money on this kind of salary and lifestyle???I'm planning to set aside AED1,000.00/pm.Is this possible???

HELP!!!!

nuyu
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Dec 01, 2007