Advice Please?

Topic locked
Advice Please? Jun 28, 2007
Me and my girlfriend (we are both 29) are thinking of moving to Dubai.

I work in construction (QS) and have been offered a role paying circa 34000 direms per month plus company car.

My girlfriend intends on getting an admin type job but we wont try sorting that if/until we arrive.

What kind of lifestyle would we have based on that sort of money? We intend on renting a 2 bed flat but have no idea on costs yet so any advice would help?

Blowfish
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Jun 28, 2007
mate, i think you'll be more than comfortable on that.

i think other posts have established that a young couple living a sociable existince in dubai would pay around 17/18,000Dhs / month on expenses including accommodation (based on 115,000Dhs apartment), costs therein and going out doing stuff at weekends, etc. although that excludes car costs, which aren't an issue for you guys anyway.

if you don't mind me asking, who are you thinking of working with in Dubai?

**i'm loving the 'me and my girlfriends (both 29)...' chat - two girlfriends ey???
jcraiggibson
Dubai Forums Member

Jun 28, 2007
Just realised what i wrote and i meant girlfriend rather than friends :D

Thanks for your advice.

How much should i expect a 2 bed apartment in somewhere like dubai festival city to set us back?

Firm is LaingO'Rourke!
Blowfish
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Re: Advice Please? Jun 28, 2007
Blowfish wrote:I work in construction (QS) and have been offered a role paying circa 34000 direms per month plus company car.

Sounds good to me. Unless you have extravagant tastes, you can live well on that and still save money. They not supplying accommodation? You can get a good 2 bdrm flat for 120k-140k per year. Maybe a bit less at DFC.
bonk
Dubai Master of Thread Hijackers

Jun 28, 2007
Just be warned that if you and your girlfriend live together and the authorities find out... you will be executed.
^ian^
UAE, Dubai Forums Lord of the posts

Jun 28, 2007