Relocating Questions

Topic locked
Relocating questions Jan 09, 2007
Hello everyone,

I have some questions regarding employment in Dubai. I'm starting to collect information about living in Dubai, and I was kinda hoping someone would have some answers to theses questions.

I am canadian, 33yo, single, no children. I worked in IT for the past 15 years, mostly in networking (tcp/ip -cisco), system administration (unix, all flavours) and security (auditing -ISO17799, ... and lots of technical experience (sso, firewalls, vpn, name it). I also have experience in project management. My native language is french, although I'm fluent in english.

I worked and lived in different cities around the world: Quebec city, Montreal, Paris (France), Vancouver (Canada) and well, I'm obviously looking for something new and challenging.

Questions now:

- What annual salary should I expect from a good offer? (without housing / car allowances).

- How hard is it to find jobs in IT? (either networking, sysadmin or security)

- Where is the best place to search for employment in the IT industry? Some say headhunters are the way to go, but.... really?

- Can you live and work in Dubai without a car, only relying on public transportation and/or taxis? (I just hate to pay for a car if public transports are reliable)

- How is the life of a single person in Dubai? (I'm born catholic, although I don't practice any religion). I know the nightlife is most likely not the same as Las Vegas, but any chances to meet single women?

I'm really really eager to move in Dubai, just need more information to go ahead. Hopefully I'll be there soon!

Thanks in advance for reading this and providing some answers. It will really help at this point.

(p.s. sorry if some of these questions are already answered somewhere in the site. I did a search, but didn't find answers close enough to what I'm looking for.

droyer
Dubai Forum Guest

Jan 09, 2007
Bleakus
Dubai Forums Zealot

Jan 09, 2007
Dude,