Just A Few Questions

Topic locked
Just a few questions Aug 23, 2005
I'm seriously considering moving to Dubai with my girlfriend to live if we can both get residency permits.

So I have a few questions.

I read that the Dubai government has just allowed "private ownership" of properties by expatriates. Giving them a residency permit if they buy a property.

If we buy a property with both my name and my girlfriends name on the title will we both get residency permits or is it just one permit per property?

I trade futures contracts for a living for my private account, so I won't need to find employment. All my income will come from offshore investments.

I heard through a friend of a friend that even if you have a residency permit you are still expected to find employment at some stage, is this true?

Are there taxes on income from foreign investments, capital gains, income tax or withholding tax?

Thanks in advance

Regards

Mark

MarkG
Dubai Forum Guest

Re: Just a few questions Aug 23, 2005
MarkG wrote:If we buy a property with both my name and my girlfriends name on the title will we both get residency permits or is it just one permit per property?

I am not sure about this one, but i think its one permit per property but the holder of this permit can sponser his family. now the fact that you and your girlfriend will own the property jointly and your not married is something you will need some lawyer advice on. Especially that its not cultural norm here to be together when not married.

I heard through a friend of a friend that even if you have a residency permit you are still expected to find employment at some stage, is this true?

No your not, if you own property then your sponsor is the developer and you dont need to find a job.

Are there taxes on income from foreign investments, capital gains, income tax or withholding tax?

Nope nothing at all. The only thing they are *thinking* of introducing is a VAT and that wont come for while.
MaaaD