Hints And Tips For Breaking My Dubai 7s Virginity

Topic locked
Hints and tips for breaking my Dubai 7s virginity Nov 29, 2006
Hi folks, I'm new to Dubai and have bought tickets for the "premier social event" (so I'm told) in Dubai this weekend - the rugby 7s.

I will be engaging in the age-old British tradition of drinking beer and going a worrying shade of red in the sun. Any hints and tips for me on things like:

- What to wear - am I OK in shorts and sandals or should I come in jeans and boots if it gets muddy?
- Best way to get there? I hear there are free buses but don't know where they go from?
- What time to arrive?
- Best places to sit for the games?
- How much cash to take for beer, food and souvenirs?
- Any other entertainment I should take in?
- Best post-event party?

Any other thoughts appreciated!

Cheers

scot1870
Dubai Expat Helper

Nov 29, 2006
Ok, here we go:

1) dress as casual as you can cos it will get messy later in the day. Suggest t-shirts, shorts and trainers,
2) taxis are the best. I know that certain drinking establishments around town organise buses, but not 100% sure,
3) BP stand is the larniest and most boisturious of the two stands. All the yaapies (Boks) sit in one corner of the emirates stand,
4) Really depends on how many cans you will drink and pies you will eat,
5) Other entertaiment = just sit oggling at the nice ladies who walk past! :lol:
6) There's always a very good after match party with live music, DJ etc, (that is of cos if you are still standing by that point!),

Few pointers for you:
1) Plan your trips to the toilet well in advance. Its the first time I have ever seen the gents queue's longer than the womens (i have seen many a men standing with legs crossed, clenched teeth or dashing to stand by the palisades as they have cut it too fine! A few had wet patches on front of trousers :shock: