Teaching English Advice

Topic locked
Teaching English Advice Mar 09, 2009
I have been researching information on Dubai for a while now, but get wildly differing opinions on the likelihood of employment. I have been told that while my qualifications in general are excellent, my TEFL qualification will be lightly regarded in Dubai.
I have been teaching in the UK for ten years. I teach Literacy (including ESOL), Numeracy, and IT. I have the following qualifications:
Masters Degree in Global Biodiversity (University of Hull)
Bachelor's Degree in Environmental Biology (University of Birmingham)
PGCE in Post-compulsory Education (Oxford Brookes University)
In English I have A Level and my TEFL (i-i 40 hour online course, plus the 20 hour online grammar course).
In addition I am a member of the Institute of Learning, the Institute of Biology, and hold the title Chartered Biologist.
I was wondering if there is anyone on the Forum who might provide an insight into whether I do indeed need to augment my TEFL qualifications with more advanced courses before thinking of attempting to work in Dubai? In particular there was a Professional Trainer on some posts called bilal_dubai who provided sound advice for some people. However, the forum will not allow me to write to Bilal until I have made ten other posts first! If you are reading this Bilal I would welcome your comments!
Regards, Mark Maddox

Mark Maddox
Dubai Forum Guest

Mar 11, 2009
If you want a good English teaching job you need a Master's degree. You'll get teaching jobs with TEFL but they won't pay well. Here's more about teaching in Dubai :).
bonk
Dubai Master of Thread Hijackers

Mar 12, 2009
He has a Masters degree, it just isn't in TESL subject area.