How Do You Find Out Of Your Field Is Any Good?

Topic locked
how do you find out of your field is any good? Aug 30, 2006
Ok iam pharmaceutical science graduate and trying to finish my PhD in cancer research/ medicinal chemistry. Iam British citizen but I would like to come to work in UAE, so where do I start? Do I have to come there and look myself? Iam looking into lecturing (chemistry) or working in any pharmaceutical companies. Apart from my PhD I have no experience. Please someone advice me. I have looked through zillion of recruitment sites but no luck! I also looked at universities directly but there are no vacancy, is it bad time now? I think the new academic year is starting. Iam not looking to relocate immediately but I just want to know, is my field wanted there?? Do I have a chance with no experience? I also speak Arabic if that help!! I want to work in dubai so i can save money and pay my debt, would i be better off here?

sara_uk
Dubai Forums Veteran

Aug 31, 2006
Sara experience is one major aspect they check when your applying in UAE. But you say your UK educated, so I guess that could be given a credit also. :wink:

Your best bet in finding a job here is thru those online recruitment agencies. Keep on trying, goodluck! :lol:
zam
Dubai Master of Thread Hijackers

Aug 31, 2006
Thank you zam. i really want to come to Dubai but if experience is a must then i have to work first then but really I can not stand it here. i know there alot of jobs in Canada for me. it looks depressing that my field is not that popular here :cry:
sara_uk
Dubai Forums Veteran

Aug 31, 2006
Hope you can make it down sara, but if you decide to make a detour to Canada, Canadian teachers/lecturers here seem to be some of the most respected from what I've been told.