A Bit Confused After Reading Posts On Attesting Document

Topic locked
a bit confused after reading posts on attesting document Aug 22, 2006
hi all,

after browsing thru some related postings on degree attestation by dbxsoul, scarlet and others, i am getting more confused as to what the right process should be.

i have my degree from australian university in sydney and i am currently living and working in jakarta.

my would be dubai employer asked me to send to them, among other things, original degree certificate attested by ministry.

now the confusion starts. after browsing thru the postings in this forum, it seems that there are 2 methods to attest certificate, one is thru uae embassy in the country and the other one is thru empost [which i assume more practical if you are already in uae].

so, i contacted the uae embassy in jakarta and was told that since my degree is issued by australian university, the embassy in jakarta can not attest the certificate. instead, i have to get it attested at their embassy in australia. this is after i told them that i will get a formal letter from australian embassy education center stating that my certificate is issued by legit university in australia.

i am shocked with this information, since this may require a quick trip down under and do the steps done by scarlet. not to mention delaying my move to dubai.

my questions:
1. has anyone experienced this kind of problem?
2. is there a better way? there has to be! :-(
3. is it better to travel to dubai on a visit visa and perform degree verification using empost over there?
4. will the employer do the verification locally in dubai [thru empost] if i send them the document to them?
5. why do the employer need the original certificate for visa processing?

any input, comment, will be much appreciated. Thanks.

JeepDude
Dubai Forums Member

Aug 22, 2006
Surely this can be done through certified mail to the embassy?