Asking You Ahamed!!!!!!!!!

Topic locked
Asking you ahamed!!!!!!!!! May 13, 2007
Hey ahamed,i would like to ask you a question since i see you as the most active guy in these forum.the thing is with my career

About me :
Computer engineering Degree holder from india,after commining here 3 years back i found that IT wasnt as much promising as now , so i jumped to 3D Designing field (architectural) and now i am an industry level expert in the profession

and my problem :
the thing is i always wanted job in computer networking /System Administration side as a stepping stone i have done MCSE and now preparing for CCNA .I does some small networking and syetem administration things in my company

The issue:
The issue now is the construction industry in dubai is soaring high and they pay employees good...very good indeed , for me i am getting offers above 10,000 aed PM for working as 3D designer.

i wanna know if i get into the networking field how much can i get as starting and how well i can grow and upto what level?or should i stick with my current profession?whats your opinion about this ,please gimme a good advise i havebeen trying to sort it out since one month but in vain
(i am 27 now)

please help me

thanks in advance

freeman0179
Dubai Forum User

May 14, 2007
Ok since Ahamed is not here, i'll try and fill in and hope he doesn't mind :P

OK, don't take this in the wrong way but its just the way things work here. If you're a filipino or indian, you will get underpaid compared to an American or British.

The going market salary for a Network Engineer right now is anywhere from AED 8000 - AED 20000/month

This all depends on what you bring to the table. Your skills, your troubleshooting techniques, your networking style, years of experience and of course, your degree and passport.