Advice Needed

Topic locked
Advice Needed Sep 18, 2005
Hello everyone,

I am thinking about coming to Dubai in the future and wanted to ask some questions. Firstly, I have a senior purchasing role in a large US IT company (I am based in the UK after returning from a 2 year stint in Holland) and wondered what the possibility for getting a job in Dubai looked like - I have around 12 years experience in purchasing / strategic sourcing and have a degree. I would also consider doing something different - maybe working as a lecturer of business in a college if that was possible, or even something different in the business world

My girlfriend has lived in the UAE before and worked as a teacher and should have no difficulty getting another job there - is it easier if we got married ? I figured we could then live together in her accommodation whilst I looked for work and also the visa issue becomes easier i.e I am able to be resident in the country? I do expect to be able to take a fair amount iof savings with me so I will have some 'comfort'

Any advice gratefully received

thanks

paul

pault
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Sep 22, 2005
is it easier if we got married

Yes - but you can get away with cohabiting if you are discreet - though it is illegal. If either of you needs to sponsor the other then marriage is a must.
secretdubai
Dubai Forums Frequenter

thanks Sep 23, 2005
thanks for that - what about the job situation in Dubai for professional witha degree and plenty of experience
pault
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Sep 23, 2005
couple of things concerning job search in dubai:

1) looking for a job in dubai from overseas is largely a futile aim. there are so many well qualified people already in dubai from all over the world who are willing to work that a company would not have to pay to relocate, that in order to be hired from overseas, you need to be pretty highly specialized and really have something different to offer a company