Which Is Better? Malaysia Or Dubai?

Topic locked
Which Is Better? Malaysia or Dubai? Jun 24, 2006
Hi guys... i finally have the guts to apply for positions abroad... got some interesting replies from Malaysia, Dubai and HK...

HK is interesting, but i'm still confused deciding which is better, Malaysia or Dubai since both have their own uniqueness...

Let me describe me first, i'm an Indonesian architect with 3 years of experience (local), single and living a conveniently modest life. I love sports, watching TV and browsing the net.

As i've learned, both countries can accomodate my needs, i haven't decided the expected salary n monthly allowance to my future employer in Dubai but i have decided to the one in Malaysia.

I can live (relatively) decently with RM 6000 (around 6000 AED if i'm not misteken for all the bills, 1 BR apartment, transport cost, daily meals n a little saving) but i certainly won't get the same in Dubai.

I can't find any salary survey on architect profession in Dubai but as i've searched in this forum i pressume that i can get around 11000 AED + apt. allowance + transport allowance... is it likely true?

But there are also other considerations based on the climate, the culture, technology provided, etc. that need to be put into consideration.

For one thing, Malaysia is closer to my home country, eventhough the salary expected is alot less than Dubai but i can save as many as i save from what i might earn in Dubai.

On the other hand, experiencing something different is going to be really interesting, is Dubai a right place to gain such?

Thanks for the opinion...

sob80sup81
Dubai Forum Guest

Jun 24, 2006
Being an architect myself and being a Malaysian, I think I can give you the best opinion :wink: , at least about Dubai vs Malaysia.