Dubai Court Help

Topic locked
Dubai court help Oct 23, 2009
Hi,

I have been working for my company for 2 years and half. my contract was limited contract for one year for first year and second year i did not sign any contract because automatically gets renewed ( i think the contract would be limited again). I was not paid by my company for three month and I got arbitrary termination ( i think i would be entitled to extra three month since my contract was limited but the company does not believe so).

I filed the case in dubai court and in the small courts judge told me that company is willing to pay me 65% of total amount (my salary, end of service, unpaid vacation and arbitrary termination). i have not agreed to the amount and i am not happy because i want the total amount. If i dont agree the case will be taken to chamber court where i have to get lawyer. i know if it even goes there i will win.

i want to know how much lawyer would cost? if i win, will the other side pay for my lawyer cost? can the lawyer increase the total amount?

thanks

betoche
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Oct 23, 2009
lawyer is quite expensive (vary between 7000-20000) and mostly they're lazy (no initiative, careless).

first, i suggest to study yourself the law (elaws.gov.ae). so you know your position and rights. and having a friend who knows and can translate Arabic to English (vice versa) would be helpful. instead of paying expensive lawyer and translation service. lawyer is not mandatory, there's translator in each session. after all, there's almost no argumentation at court, all process is by submitting written arguments/documents and response is given in the next session.

second, if you haven't got another job, you need to calculate your expenses for living here without income, legal translations for all the documents you submitted (70-100 per page). the process is so slow, it will take months. let alone for appeals.