Etisalat Al Shamil ADSL Help Needed...

Topic locked
Etisalat Al Shamil ADSL help needed... Oct 08, 2006
Hey all, im in a spot of trouble here, coz i have very little knowledge of networking and shtuuf, and for the life of me cant figure this one out..

Well, ive got a really big one storey house, 3 computers are at one place and connected to a Siemens Speedstream 6520 thing ( is it called a modem or a router??) thats connected to a 2 mb Al Shamil connection. Now, i need to provide internet in a room that is almost 15-17 meters away and i have to use the same Al Shamil connection.

My question is....can i fix a Multi phone line adapter at the point in the wall where the DSL line is connected to the Siemens thing, and attach another phone line there, to be connected to another modem/router in the room??? Or will that bugger up the whole setup???

In the worst case scenario...i can draw a standard Ethernet RJ45 cable all the way to the room, but its gonna be messy, and i havent seen any cables of this length or any extension kinda things around...

If i can connect another modem/router (which is it???) to the DSL line, will i have to do any fancy IP config like the Al Shamil guy did initially??? Coz i have no clue about all that...Also, will the two modems/router be on the same network???

Appreciate any info on the above an sorry for being sucha n00b... :P...

aecoss
Dubai Forum Guest

Oct 08, 2006
Hi,

your best bet is to do the following.

You will not be able to use the multi-phone plug on ADSL unless its configured to use it.

For example: In the US, when DSL is installed and the person has a phone line too, they split the connection using a SPECIAL multi-phone dongle.

In your case, I would recommend getting a Wireless ADSL 4-port Router. That way all your headaches are gone in one stroke.

The above router will give you the ability to do the following:

1. Connect upto 4 computers ( Hard-wired into each of the 4 ports)