Job Opportunities For Dentists In Dubai?

Topic locked
Job opportunities for Dentists in Dubai? Oct 04, 2005
Hi there, I have some questions regarding my employment prospects as a foreign-trained Dentist.

I am a recent dental graduate from a reputable medical University in India. But I carry a UK passaport and did upto my undergrad studies in Britian. There would be no other city more favourable for me to work then Dubai, I truely honestly love this place. If anyone could help me out would appreciate it very much.

1) Can I work as a foreign-trained Dentist in Dubai?

2) Do I have to obtain a license to practice?

3) Are medical/dental professionals with degrees from India/Pakistan etc. at a disadvantage to say those from Britian or USA.

4) What would be the avg. month salary for someone like me?

Thank-You.

Rizwaan
Dubai Forum Guest

Oct 05, 2005
Rizwaan;

1) Yes you can work as a foreign-trained dentist in Dubai

2) Yes you do. The procedure is slightly different in the other Emirates (eg Sharjah) but in Dubai;
- you get a job offer from a prospective employer
- you apply to the Ministry of Health to sit the quarter-yearly professional exam (I haven't done this exam but apparently if you can write your name correctly you should be able to pass the exam)
- you get notified of the exam results and start working

3) Theory-wise it _might_ be true to say that there is a disadvantage to the education on the Indian subcontinent compared with UK/USA, however the experience is usually so much greater that there is no practical disadvantage. Unfortunately the salary will only be 15-30%. But this is due to passport not education, unfortunately.

4) Average monthly starting salary for a recent graduate would be 4-6,000. The typical dental contract would run 3 years. You _could_ double this salary when you renew your contract, or before. Larger organisations typically pay better than smaller practices (although there are exceptions).