A Chemistry Q!

Topic locked
A Chemistry Q! Feb 25, 2006
Suppose 8.00 g of CH4 is allowed to burn in the presence of 6.00 g of oxygen. How much (in grams) CH4, O2, CO2, and H2O remain after the reaction is complete?

All you chemistry freaks out there solve this one for me, and show all your working :lol:

Hiya
Dubai Forums Enthusiast

Feb 25, 2006
If a 4x4 is travelling from Sharjah to Dubai on SZR at 8am on a Monday and a taxi is travelling from Dubai...

oh well.. let's see if I remember any of my A level Chemistry..

Hydrogen has weight 1, Carbon 4, Oxygen 2

Methane burns in Oxygen into Carbon Dioxide and water.

ch4 + 2 x(o2) = co2 + 2 x(h2o)

Therefore, if my logic and memory is correct 6g of Oxygen will react with 6g of methane to produce 6g of carbon dioxide and 6g of water, leaving 2g of Methane unreacted.

But then again, I could be totally wrong - I am an actuary by profession and don't deal with chemicals at all!! :)
shafique
Dubai Shadow Wolf

Feb 25, 2006
1+1 = 2

But 2+2 = 4....

The world is round... But the universe is an ever expanding oval mass...

It is sunny today.
Liban
Dubai Forums Zealot

Feb 25, 2006
shafique wrote:If a 4x4 is travelling from Sharjah to Dubai on SZR at 8am on a Monday and a taxi is travelling from Dubai...

oh well.. let's see if I remember any of my A level Chemistry..

Hydrogen has weight 1, Carbon 4, Oxygen 2

Methane burns in Oxygen into Carbon Dioxide and water.

ch4 + 2 x(o2) = co2 + 2 x(h2o)

Therefore, if my logic and memory is correct 6g of Oxygen will react with 6g of methane to produce 6g of carbon dioxide and 6g of water, leaving 2g of Methane unreacted.

But then again, I could be totally wrong - I am an actuary by profession and don't deal with chemicals at all!! :)

hey, this sounds interesting.... chemistry lessons back in school..

shafique, you are partially incorrect. molecular weight of carbon is 12, hydrogen is 2 and oxygen 32.