Moving To Dubai - Please Advise

Topic locked
Moving to Dubai - please advise Nov 26, 2010
Hii,

My company is relocating me to Dubai Office in a couple of weeks.Considering that I am an Electrical Engineer (PAK ) with total prior experience of 1.5 years (as Sales Engineer in KSA),Please advise if the offered package is worth coming to DUBAI:
Per Month:
Basic 6K
Housing - 2.5K
Transport - 1.5k + Gas (on actual)
Mobile - 250 AED

Plus Ticket+Insurance + vacation and EOS benefits.

Also I have a valid Saudi Driving License.Please advise If i can drive in UAE with my Saudi License.Would getting a International License from KSA help ??

I intent to rent a car as my job(Sales Engineer) would require frequent movements across the city.Please advise If i can manage a small car within 1500 AED.(rent a car with insurance)

Beside the package discussed above,any other things that i should ask my company to add up in my compensation ??

thanks and Tc

FJN
Dubai Forum Guest

Re: Moving To Dubai - Please Advise Nov 26, 2010
What is a "Sales Engineer"? I apologize, but is that the same as a sales person? IMO, it's not much of a package. You would really struggle to live on that. Obviously your travel allowance will go towards the car rental. You will be able to get a studio for that housing allowance, and possibly a small 1 bedroom, depending on the location. You also have to factor in monthly water and electrical charges. What about furniture? Will you have to purchase it or will they be giving you a furniture allowance? TBH, if they do, I'm sure it's not going to be very much since the package is not very attractive. Food is very expensive here - well that depends on what you eat, but in any event it's still expensive.

How does the offer compare to what you are on in SA?

As for a driving license, I can't say, but I think you would be required to have a UAE license. Possibly it would be easy to obtain if you have an international license.