Dubai In General

Topic locked
dubai in general Feb 08, 2005
hi guys nice to see many folks interested on information or life styles in dubai.
i am am in dubai currently, i was living in canada since 1990 - i moved to dubai - 2000. i would like to give u a first hand experience. dubia is an awesome place, the weather is great. i somewhat agree with some folks that dubai is a racist place - but honestly - really! which part of the country isnt - really seriously think hard prior to your response. please note this is just my opinion & in no way do i want to offend anyone. i work in a bank in dubai, i was literally stuck in a 9 to 5 rut. i searched for jobs in dubai but was not successful. i currently earn a great salary, company accomodation - & a great life style - weekends are clubing/pubing nites. i would recommend every one to reserch on dubai & go visit the country it will change your life. there are quite a few folks offering recruitment services to dubai on the net... please be careful who u deal with make sure u ask them technical questions i.e. salaries - visa process etc. there is a website www.jobsindubai.com just like all u guys i was extremely skeptical to apply for a job as the wanted a registration fee. however this is the only company - where u can visit an office/talk to a real person. i was not aware of the process on how to ge to dubai etc. i got a job thru jobsindubai, their process was lenghthy their site says about a year but actually takes 18 months plus. i later found out that the immigration process in dubai is really slow & quite different then the western part of the world. Jobs in dubai (JID) helped me a lot - i was a bit paranoid & frustrated as i paid the registration fee - i kept calling them every month - & @ one point asked for a refund - to my surprise i actually got it - but as i was contact by an angency in dubai stating that JID forwarded the resume - i had a phone interview (twice) & then was sent an conditional appointment letter