UAE Traditions

Topic locked
UAE Traditions Feb 20, 2006
UAE Traditions

I have been reading up on the Heritage and Traditions of the United Arab Emirates as background information to a business research plan and would like feedback information on anything I have perceived wrongly.

Please note these comments and conclusions are my interpretation of what I have read about the United Arab Emirate and its people of whom I have no personal experience having never met a member of the tribes and other then visiting via the Internet have never been there. My apology for any ignorance on my part.

What came across to me was the Arab tribes resourcefulness in making the most of a harsh environment. And the good will the people must have towards each other in order to survive.
That need is I think reflected by the traditional social structure
structure in which each family was traditionally bound by obligations of mutual assistance to members of his tribe. Among the tribe an individual’s selfless hospitality is the source of his honour and pride on which his own life could depend on the hospitality of others.
Any society that has such an ancient environmentally driven ethic of helping and sharing probably promotes the ability of co-operation.
It is resourceful and creative to have greatly extended their lands and beaches taking advantage of relatively shallow coastal waters and provided protection from any possible future pollution of the beaches at the same time.
It seems to me the Bani Yas, Awamir and Manasir tribes are doing what they are traditionally good at and The palm Islands are a very very impressive example of it.

Moving in the desert and crazing places with the imperative of reaching an oasis
Before your food or water runs out makes for excellent geographic memories and navigation skills.