SUV For Regular On And Off Road Use.

Topic locked
SUV for regular on and off road use. Mar 12, 2011
Hi there all auto experts,

I need your valuable advice here.

I am planning to buy an SUV, which I can regularly drive to the office and occasionally to the desert.

My idea is to go for a land cruiser 1998-2003 models with a budget of 60000.

I don’t mind buying a new one if my sole purpose was on road use. But I don’t really want to take a 200000 vehicle to the desert.

The factors attracted me to 1998-2003 land cruiser are as follows.

1. Mechanically reliable
2. There is no too much electronics which can go wrong ( for eg: latest prado pneumatic suspension – which is already a problem)
3. Easy to find parts.
4. Easy to repair out side the dealer ships.

The thing is, I am an electronics hobbyist and wants to add my own gadgets to the car myself (computer, GPS, cameras, lightings etc)

I would be much more comfortable doing all these on an old and cheap car than on a not so cheap new one. (Frankly, I believe that the Toyotas are overpriced)

What I wanted to know from you experts are

1. Am I wrong in any of the four points mentioned above?
2. Can you suggest a better alternative considering all the above?
3. I have never gone for serious off roading even though I am big fan of the sport. What other factors should I take into consideration?
4. Can you suggest a good garage where I can get a prospective car inspected?

Thanking you all in advance and awaiting your valuable comments,

Zaq.

zaq
Dubai Forum User

Re: SUV For Regular On And Off Road Use. Mar 12, 2011
Land Cruiser VXR V8, can handle the stress of regular off road bashing as well as comfortable on road to be a daily driver and under 60k

But since you want a cheap car which is actually what I always recomend specially if you want take it offroad and your pretty new you'll will most defenite make mistakes which on a new/er car could be expensive.