Looking At Buying A Car, Couple Questions.

Topic locked
Looking at buying a car, couple questions. Jan 31, 2009
Hey guys, long time reader, first time poster. Just a little background on myself, i'm an ASE master tech from Florida back in the USA. I've been working as a technician in Afghanistan for the last 5 years and just recently moved to Abu Dhabi and started with a new job.
I've got a 150,000 AED budget to buy a car or truck here, and have a few questions. I have no desire to buy a brand new car, since i'd void the warranty anyways playing around with the engine and exhaust. so i'm looking for something I can sink my hands into.
1. I've heard that in RAK or UAQ you can find rare or grey market models of cars. Say I do find a JDM car that I want, would registering it in RAK or UAQ make it easier because of the vehicle inspections and emissions tests? I'm referring to, say in example, I find a 98 or 99 Skyline with modifications. Would it be possible to to buy and register it in those emirates, but drive it here in AD?
2. Are there any restrictions as to how HIGH a vehicle can be? I have been tempted to buy a slightly older Tundra or Silverado and bolt a 8 or 11 inch lift kit to it. Are there any laws that might prevent this or make it fail inspection?
3. I have access to a local friend's garage and tools, so I plan on doing all my own installations and tuning, but I guess it all boils down to being able to pass inspection and then modifying the car. I guess basically in a nutshell, what could I get away with after the inspector's had a look at my car? I'm just wondering how some of my fellow expats get around with having tuned cars but not using waasta when it comes to the law.

Thanks for the help guys, look forward to talking with you!
Eli

Hulahula
Dubai Forums Talker

Feb 02, 2009