Got An Offer Of 30k AED In Abu Dhabi... Is It Worth Taking?

Topic locked
Got an offer of 30k AED in Abu Dhabi... Is it worth taking? Dec 05, 2008
Hi
I am an IT manager from UK earning around £45k. I have been offered an IT position paying 30k AED per annum + Medical insurance.

I need opinion as to whether the salary offered will be good enough to live comfortably or not in AD.

We are a family of three and my little one will be starting nursery soon.

Any advise will be appriciated.

Thanks
Sdevil

sdevil
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Dec 06, 2008
That will be 30K AED per month.

Yes it should be good to live on, however be warned accommodation in Abu Dhabi is hard to find and very expensive. It may take a good chunk of your hard earned salary.

8) 8) 8)

Knight
Dubai Knight
UAE, Dubai Forums Lord of the posts

Dec 06, 2008
Others may disagree but I would say it is not enough unless your wife is also working.

Once you pay your rent and school fees for your three children I'd be surprised if you have anything left.

I understand AD prices are a little higher than Dubai, apologies if that is not the case, but in Dubai you're looking at:

Two Bed Flat = ~120,000 ~ 11/000/month (minimum)
Three Bed Villa = ~160,000 ~ 13,000/month (minimum)

Say 4000 dhs/month on food
Say 3000 dhs/month on a car (either rental or repayments +fuel)

After Housing/Food/Transport you'll have about 10,000 dhs left, which probably won't cover school fees for three kids.

Again - this is for Dubai, if AD is different then I apologize.

EDIT: Oops, I misread the "Family of three"...

It should be enough to get by with one kid in Kindergarten, but I wouldn't be expecting to save much if your wife isn't also working.
EhSteve
Dubai Forum Visitor

Dec 06, 2008
Sorry, for 'Family of 3' I read that as husband, wife and 1 daughter.

:? :? :?

Knight
Dubai Knight
UAE, Dubai Forums Lord of the posts

Dec 06, 2008
Dubai Knight wrote:Sorry, for 'Family of 3' I read that as husband, wife and 1 daughter.

:? :? :?