Lease Or Buy?

Topic locked
Lease or Buy? Nov 07, 2005
I have been looking around on the net about leasing options for cars in dubai. I am wondering what people new to Dubai normally do in terms of getting a car. Im looking at a used car, possible a civic or a lancer but most websites list them as buy now prices.

Anyone have any idea what are the reputable dealers in Dubai who offer competitive leasing/monthly plans on cars? Also what can I expect to pay?

thx

A64Venice
Dubai Expat Helper

Nov 07, 2005
I used to work in the car sales business when I was in school.

That being set, never lease a used car. It is not worth it because when you factor in the fact that most used cars have a reduced warranty period or no warranty at all, the costs of repairing something that breaks far outweighs any savings you think you may make.

In addition, if the used car turns out to be a problem, you are stuck in a lease until term completion. You may break the lease but incur a hefty penalty.

My advice is to finance a used car. I personally do not beleive in leasing (be it new or used) for even though monthly payments are generally lower, you pay more on the long run. Plus financing gives you equity.
Liban
Dubai Forums Zealot

Nov 07, 2005
Liban, thx for the advice.

Do you know what are the requirements for someone working in the UAE for auto financing? For example, when I used to live in the states they did financing there based on one's credit rating. Plus over there they had 0% down payment.
A64Venice
Dubai Expat Helper

Nov 07, 2005
A64 venice,

You can go to places such as 4x4 Motors, they will offere you 0% down payment and financing. A lot of dealerships offer the same both for new and used cars!

You really, really need to shop around.
yorky500
Dubai forums GURU

Nov 08, 2005
best advice you can get is exactly what Yorky said, shop around.