Driving In Dubai And Other Cultural Shocks

Topic locked
Driving in Dubai and other cultural shocks Apr 29, 2007
I'm 6 months into my estimated 3 year term in Dubai and still struggle with the fact there are no street addresses. There are other aspects of Dubai and the UAE that perplex me as well but it's a great place to be and live. I'm a 49 year old professional here to manage our design and construction projects as well as the management our newly established company. Looking to meet people and wonder if you have any suggestions as to where or perhaps we can find some things in common.

canadian.pride
UAE, Dubai Forum starter

Re: Driving in Dubai and other cultural shocks Apr 29, 2007
canadian.pride wrote:I'm 6 months into my estimated 3 year term in Dubai and still struggle with the fact there are no street addresses. There are other aspects of Dubai and the UAE that perplex me as well but it's a great place to be and live. I'm a 49 year old professional here to manage our design and construction projects as well as the management our newly established company. Looking to meet people and wonder if you have any suggestions as to where or perhaps we can find some things in common.

As people dont get their posts at their home , so they dont have street address :=). :lol:

When i was at dubai , i used to tell the taxi driver , drop me infornt of " Fatima salon" :oops:
HP
Dubai Forums Knight

May 01, 2007
How can people locate u without street names and numbers? I have had so many people tell me stuff like the building next to etisalat or across the street from this restaurant or other? The traffic problem in dubai is probably because people are driving around trying to find different locations.
Dubaidude007
Dubai forums Addict

May 01, 2007
cu
M!
Dubai forums Addict

Jun 30, 2007
lol. i just got used to it... even if there are some street numbers, nobody takes notice! you have to locate places depending on the nearest more popular landmark.