Is It Usual To Get Housing Allowance?

Topic locked
Is it usual to get housing allowance? Feb 22, 2007
Hi -

I have been offered a position in Dubai by my current employer (I'm based in London at the moment). I'm a professional in my mid-30s, married with one young (not school age) child, and planning to have another soon.

The base salary (more or less the same as what I get in the UK now) is pretty good - AED25,500/month plus AED3,300/month car/fuel allowance and private medical cover for me and my family. I get a relocation allowance (one month salary) but I have not been offered a housing allowance.

By my calculations I'll need to budget at least AED150,000 for reasonably decent family accommodation, in other words at least half my salary, and about twice my monthly mortgage payments in the UK.

Should I be holding out for an accommodation allowance? Is this a usual part of an expat package in Dubai? Very grateful for any comments.

jayzed
Dubai Forums Enthusiast

Feb 22, 2007
Yes it's normal here, but it varies in amount and often it's just a token that won't cover the cost of a house.

You're better having your remuneration in base salary anyway as that's what your annual bonus plus end of service bonus (you get various weeks/ months salary depending how long you stay even for permanent positions) are paid out on.
scot1870
Dubai Expat Helper

Feb 22, 2007
Thanks Scot. Do you/others think that we would be able to live okay and save a bit on the package I've described? It doesn't seem to me that we'd be any better off than we are now in London.

My wife will probably look for work once we're there, but that would be on a local package and given our sprogging plans I don't want to have to rely on her income to make ends meet.
jayzed
Dubai Forums Enthusiast

Re: Is it usual to get housing allowance? Feb 22, 2007