Teaching Primary / Secondary Levels In Dubai

Topic locked
Teaching Primary / Secondary levels in Dubai May 02, 2004
Hello there

I am an Australian school teacher looking to take up a contract in Dubai to teach Primary or secondary level.

Would love to hear some input from other teachers there.

Do you enjoy it?, are the students interesting? student temperaments, entertainment for the family (ie: 10 and 8 year old boys)?
Anyone trading shares by any chance (Husbands job)

Life in general. Family things to do on weekends.

Have seen many web sites and had alot of information.

Would appreciate the human touch of any written comments.

Thanks
Sophie G

MSG
Dubai Forum Guest

May 02, 2004
i'm sorry i'm replying 2 ur question with a question but it relates to ur answer.
where abouts in australia are you from?
FAKESPIKE

May 02, 2004
We are from the City of Melbourne in the State of Victoria.
MSG
Dubai Forum Guest

May 02, 2004
http://dubaiforums.com/viewtopic.php?t=423

Grades for teacher packages and work environment. My own subjective opinion based on comments from teachers I've talked to, directors/heads/owners will probably disagree.

A-grade schools - Dubai College, Dubai English Speaking School, Dubai American Academy, American School of Dubai, Jebel Ali Primary School, Latifa School for Girls, Rashid School for Boys. Kings School (new for Sept 2004).

B-grade schools - English College, Jumeirah College (was A but think salaries have dropped?).

C-grade - Emirates International School, Al Itihad in Jumeirah.

D-grade - Chouiefat Schools, any in Sharjah, most Varkey group schools, School of Research Science, Al Itihad in Deira.

Whatever A-grade schools tell you during interviews etc can be taken as fairly accurate. Add more salt as you go down the list. Some schools will tell you absolute lies regarding conditions of work, accommodation, etc.

Contracts are usually not worth much if the employer wants to do something different (eg fire you at short notice).