Ive Been Here For Nearly A Month...

Topic locked
ive been here for nearly a month... Jan 01, 2007
and i dont think i like it.

from what people are saying on this forum, my wage isnt great, circa 11,000 dirhams a month, plus 7000dirhams/months for accommodation (once my hotel time expires), and 1600 dirhams/month for car.

also where i am staying at the moment, bur dubai, is really crap. full of indians and people who have no manners or driving skill.

tell me, does it get better?

i am a salesman, i am here from the uk to get our uk business established over here, but i am beginning to thing that maybe i would be better off earning less in the uk.

at least i have my family, friends, girlfriend. everyone i meet here are either only here for a few days, or they are not even worth talking to.

maybe once i am settled it will be better, but its not at all what i was expecting, i guess i was too naive.

btw, i have no one to whine to here, so i came on the forums to see your opinions, what can i do to enjoy my time more?

i go snowboarding, thats fun, i frequent the english bars, and i also enjoy alot of sports and fitness as well as reading and language learning.

should i put up and shut up? or should i reconsider my goals? replies from english would be more useful!

thanks

dave101
Dubai Forums Frequenter

Jan 01, 2007
Dave,

Your thoughts are not far off from many others....to summarize, Dubai is just a hype and simply put, it's just a huge shopping place.