Advice Regarding My Arrival!

Topic locked
Advice regarding my arrival! Nov 21, 2006
Hi everyone,

I'm coming from Canada to Dubai soon. I just wanted to know what I'm missing here...

I'm a project/operations manager for a cellphone service provider.

My compensation looks like
-10K USD/mth
-5 month contract
-Paid accomodations, 1 bedroom apartment. Is there an ideal area? I've been reading about an Internet free zone?
-Paid car - Is the driving really that bad? Should I just get a taxi perdiem?
-Medical insurance
-Possibility of fulltime after.
-I think the offices are in Garhoud?

I don't know what "paid" means, and should I worry about hidden costs?

Also, what television standard do they use in Dubai? NTSC or PAL? I want to bring my XBOX.

How hard is it to set up a bank account? Are there any canadian branches of banks there? HSBC maybe?

Finally: Are there any Korean people in Dubai? I know there are lots of people visiting, but any expats?

I'm under 30, and singlea single guy. No kids.

Thanks!

deefz
Dubai Forum Guest

Nov 21, 2006
Take it ! Take it all!! :)
Just confirm whether the 1 bedroom apt and car is SEPERATE from your 10k salary.
Then you're really set.

:)

There shouldn't be any hidden costs, except for what I mentioned above. Even if your car and apt. are included in that package, you're still quite well off in my opinion.

TV system is PAL and voltage is 220, so make sure your adaptor is mutlvoltage or get a converter.
Bank accounts are easy; yes many international banks are here including HSBC.

Korean - no idea, but since everyone is in Dubai, I'm sure there are!

Good luck! :)
ineedacoolnick
Dubai forums Addict

Re: Advice regarding my arrival! Nov 21, 2006
deefz wrote:Hi everyone,

I'm coming from Canada to Dubai soon. I just wanted to know what I'm missing here...

I'm a project/operations manager for a cellphone service provider.

My compensation looks like
-10K USD/mth
-5 month contract