Regarding Vmware

Topic locked
Regarding Vmware Nov 23, 2007
Hi Everybody

This is my first query in this forum. i have reading the discussions in this firm from few days. i am a computer engineer working as IT Professional. i want to know how useful is vmware for learning pupose.

and also i want to purchase a new system for myself specially for vmware so what should be the right configuration of the system.

my main aim to establish myself as sys. admin and i want to start from scratch so what are the topics i should go through. although i have done MCA and CCNA, i am not novice but i don't have much practical experience as i have never directly associated with IT job. what should be the right approach. one of my friend suggest me that i should install vmware that is very good for practicing.

Thanks in advance

Rocktheworld
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Nov 23, 2007
okay I'm a bit confused vmware is a utility so you can allocate a portion of your windows machine to run linux, I have it on one of my laptops and have sparingly used it with no issues.

But if you're planning to buy a machine why would you just not build it as a unix machine wouldn't that make more sense?

Anyway welcome to the forums and whatever you decide best of luck :)
fayz
Dubai Forums Knight
Location: take a left at the Bebsi interchange, that is the Bebsi interchange

Nov 23, 2007
Thanks Fayz for ur prompt reply. what i learned from my friend that vmware is an utility through which one can create virtual network and n no's of scenerio and practice as u r working in real enviornment. i have no idea about its relation with unix
Rocktheworld
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Nov 23, 2007
ah ok, it looks like you are using vm for a different purpose then I.