Single Woman's Life In Dubai

Topic locked
Single woman's life in Dubai Oct 11, 2007
Hi, I am new to the forum and have read several posts but still have questions.
1. I read elsewhere that you are not allowed to walk at night, and that people seen walking around are taken to jail and freed the next morning. This, apparently, in an effort to reduce crime at night.
Does anyone know if this is in fact true? Is "night" is defined as "as soon as it gets dark"? I have a dog I would take with me, and seeing how she is black, I'd have to exercise her at night and early in the morning. Will this pose a problem?
2. Also, will I be denied an apartment because I am a single woman, even though I am a professional? I am planning to work for an international company, in engineering. 3. Is Dubai like Florida, where you need a car to get anywhere and do anything? :cry: 4. Can I stay with male friends if I go visit for a week (before I decide to move there)? Can I have male friends come visit me for a week? Is anyone checking this? Thank you all very much.

njuner
Dubai Forum Guest

Oct 11, 2007
is this post a joke?

The going out at night problem referred too in your post is complete and utter nonsense. Where did you hear this from ??

There is hardly any crime at all in Dubai, and is certainly as safe as it gets anywhere in the world, for a single female to walk alone at night.

It is no problem to visit and have visitors either. I assume you are American?, this would explain the paranoia that you lot seem to have about the middle east.
arniegang
UAE, Dubai Forums Lord of the posts

Oct 11, 2007
Arniegang:

1. No, it is not a joke

2. This is where I read this from:
http://www.principalconsulting.com.au/ngn/engine/SID/1000105
and here:
http://guide.theemiratesnetwork.com/living/differences.php

I do not know what their source is, which is why I posted the question in a forum, to verify whether this is in fact true or not. According to you, it is not. Thank you for your response.