Unmarried With Child

Topic locked
Unmarried with Child Jul 07, 2008
I know this discussion has been done to death but it has never really covered the issues we entail...

basically I am a senior architectural technician who would love to work on some of the buildings going up in Dubai, however back here in UK I live with my fiance and our son of 3 years old, obviously born out of wedlock.

My question is... is it impossible to move to Dubai ie paperwork etc, if possible how to go about it, is there places to live with more westerners than muslims, thus reducing risk of being "shopped". At the moment I am resigned to the fact that this couldnt possibly happen so any positive feedback will be a surprise, Id rather have asked the questions though

Cheers
Steven

steven.clements
Dubai Forum Guest

Jul 07, 2008
your child is actually the problem regarding residency. You will not be able to obtain visa's for your partner or child whilst you remain unmarried. Sorry not what you want to hear i know.

They could stay a while on visit visa's but thats it. You wont be able to book a school or pre school place and a visiting to the doctors would be a problem.
arniegang
UAE, Dubai Forums Lord of the posts

Jul 08, 2008
I am the fiancee of Steven, we have searched this topic for hours and hours and have come across varying answers. We thought about getting married sooner so that we could gain a visa and go as a family but I read somewhere that because our son is nearly 3 and our marriage certificate wouldn't be 3 years old then there would still be problems.

I am getting very confused on the law.

Would it be possible for my son and I to gain a visitor's visas, and for Steven to gain a working visa but for us to stay together as I understand this is also illegal?
Gaynor
Dubai Forum Guest

Jul 08, 2008
I am a woman divorced, my son lives with me and I am his sponsor, so I don't see where is the problem. For a father ,it's very easy to be the sponsor, not for a mother
ciloun