The Usual Question - A Good Salary?

Topic locked
The usual Question - A Good Salary? Mar 05, 2007
Hi All,

I know this question is always asked…but…

I am at the stage where I am discussing salary with potential employers in Dubai...

I am an interior architect (corporate fit-out)
English, 26, male
London Based - Moving from a respected international company etc
Moving with my wife and newborn

At the moment it is looking like my salary will be between 25-27AED per month. From this I will pay rent and car rental (although the company will pay - it just comes out of the overall sum)

2 flights per year, medical etc

Relocation sum to be negotiated.

I will be supporting my wife for 6 months before she wants to go back to work - will my salary enable us to be comfortable (still be able to go out for meals when we want etc? We will also have app £1k per month coming from my wife maternity pay.

In addition - how much am I looking at for a nice villa (2-3 bedrooms)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

stevencharlton
Dubai Forum Guest

Re: The usual Question - A Good Salary? Mar 05, 2007
stevencharlton wrote:At the moment it is looking like my salary will be between 25-27AED per month. From this I will pay rent and car rental (although the company will pay - it just comes out of the overall sum)

You are aware that is is 7AED to the pound, so you're expecting to get paid approx. £3.50 a month?

Might wanna re-look at that.

Ross :D
rossbaku
Dubai Forums Talker

Mar 06, 2007
I think he means 25K- 27K, which is a good enough salary...
Eros
Dubai forums Addict

Re: The usual Question - A Good Salary? Mar 06, 2007
rossbaku wrote:
stevencharlton wrote:At the moment it is looking like my salary will be between 25-27AED per month. From this I will pay rent and car rental (although the company will pay - it just comes out of the overall sum)

You are aware that is is 7AED to the pound, so you're expecting to get paid approx. £3.50 a month?

Might wanna re-look at that.