Need Quick Advice

Topic locked
need quick advice Jun 25, 2007
Hi... new here... hope I'm doing this right! I'm a high school science teacher from Canada and I'm wondering if my hope of coming to the UAE soon is realistic. I've started looking at jobs on the net and have seen a few that look pretty good. My intention would be to find a job for this September for a year or two and I would want to make good money. I am a hard worker but don't want to end up being a slave. I've only just started looking into this and don't have much time. I don't know what the visa requirements are. Is my idea of being there teaching in September reasonable or possible? Any advice (esp from teachers there) is appreciated.
Karolyne

Karolyne
Dubai Forum Guest

Re: need quick advice Jun 25, 2007
Karolyne wrote:Hi... new here... hope I'm doing this right! I'm a high school science teacher from Canada and I'm wondering if my hope of coming to the UAE soon is realistic. I've started looking at jobs on the net and have seen a few that look pretty good. My intention would be to find a job for this September for a year or two and I would want to make good money. I am a hard worker but don't want to end up being a slave. I've only just started looking into this and don't have much time. I don't know what the visa requirements are. Is my idea of being there teaching in September reasonable or possible? Any advice (esp from teachers there) is appreciated.
Karolyne

There is a thread just below this one regarding the same topic. It appears that with the salary for teachers here and the housing, teaching is not an occupation where you would make "goo money" in 2 years - compared to Canada anyway.

Take a look at the other thread here. The visa stuff is done thru your employer. Many people come on visit visa and find employment (but you must find employement before the visa expires or will have to leave the country and get a new visa by rentering - if you hold a Canadian passport).