2 Months In Dubai

Topic locked
2 months in Dubai May 31, 2006
Hi all.

Will be in Dubai for 2 months June & July (perfect timing I know) for work and have a few questions - your assistance would be much appreciated.

Will I be able to do anything outside at all? Wouldn't mind at least getting a tan!
Should I be demanding a rental car, or are taxis reasonably easy to get?
Should I expect an apartment complex with a pool?
What sort of living allowance might I expect on a GBP 30k salary?

Slightly open-ended questions I know, but would be grateful of any input - maybe someone knows someone who did something similar?!
PS I am a UK graduate

Cheers

GK
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Re: 2 months in Dubai Jun 01, 2006
GK wrote:Hi all.

Will be in Dubai for 2 months June & July (perfect timing I know) for work and have a few questions - your assistance would be much appreciated.

Will I be able to do anything outside at all? Wouldn't mind at least getting a tan!
Should I be demanding a rental car, or are taxis reasonably easy to get?
Should I expect an apartment complex with a pool?
What sort of living allowance might I expect on a GBP 30k salary?

Slightly open-ended questions I know, but would be grateful of any input - maybe someone knows someone who did something similar?!
PS I am a UK graduate

Cheers

1. not much. i'd suggest you limit your outdoor activities. you could tan, but in july/ august it's pretty crappy outside. imagine trying to tan in a sauna.
2. during the hotter months, the level of driving in dubai deteriorates from crap to horendous. unless you have driven here before i would suggest you take a cab, they are much cheaper than cabs in the uk, plenty of them around and marginaly safer than driving yourself around.