Accommodation Help!

Topic locked
Accommodation help! Nov 11, 2006
Hi,
Im new to this but have been lurking around for a while and have discovered some great info! I do have a question regarding accommodation though.

Currently living in Oz, my husband has received an offer to be transfered to Dubai with his current company. We've been told that the office is on Sheikh Zayed Rd, near the Trade Centre roundabout. What are some good 'expat' areas to live in thats not too far from here? Its just the two of us, no kids (yet), so preferably an area with some decent restaurants/bars/nightlife/things to do etc. We'd be looking at a 2br, villa if we can afford it. We're budgeting around 100-130k Dh p/a - what will this get us?

Ive heard of areas like the greens/lakes/springs which all seem rather nice...is this far to travel to s.zayed rd? whats the traffic like during peak hr? Ive heard traffic is shocking, so we'd like to live closeby.

We'd be looking to arrive late Jan - is accommodation easy to come by at this time? Is it worth organising it here before we go via an agent, or should we spend the first month or so (in paid accomm by company) doing inspections/looking around?

thanks! :)

DeeDee
Dubai Forums Enthusiast

Nov 11, 2006
the places you mentioned are in the barsha/jebel ali areas. so going to work in the morning wont be so bad since most of the traffic in the morning is going the other way (comming from sharjah and areas near there dubai).

it should take about 15-20 minutes at the most from the area where you looking at.
bushra21
Dubai Forums Zealot

Nov 11, 2006
For Villa's, you will have to stick to the Greens/Springs etc. However, there are not too many restaurants/bars etc near there.

However, if you go for a 2 bed flat, you will be able to get something much closer to Trade centre roundabout i.e SZR/Al Diafah etc.
yorky500
Dubai forums GURU

Nov 11, 2006