Westerners In Dubai

Topic locked
Westerners in Dubai Nov 19, 2011
Hi every1, I am new in Dubai. I have been born and raised in a western country. Coming here, after meeting many westerns in dubai, i have realised that they all hate arabs!! I dont understand why?!! Specially emaratis, they say they would never b friend with emaratis!

MarN21
Dubai Forums Member

Re: Westerners In Dubai Nov 20, 2011
Speaking for myself, the Emerati's I've met have all been pleasant people except for the ones that have tried to run me off the road or the police who arrested my wife and demanded money from us. The problem for expatriates in this country is the legal system. Locals can get away with all kinds of bad behaviour and foreigners can't. Most locals aren't badly behaved, but some of them certainly are.

I don't dislike locals, but I'm comfortable leaving the locals to themselves. Personally I'm not comfortable trying to make friends with someone who doesn't relate to me as an equal. If a local can use his wasta to get me imprisoned at his wish, then its difficult to relate as equals.
blueshift
Dubai forums Addict

Re: Westerners in Dubai Nov 20, 2011
They're not unlike Napoleon in Animal Farm when he altered the 7th Commandment;

All animals are equal! (But some are more equal than others)

:lol: :lol:
Dillon
Dubai Master of Thread Hijackers

Yea but u know in every country there are good and bad, we shouldnt b judging some1 before knowing him. Maybe you aren't like that, but i met people like this...
MarN21
Dubai Forums Member

Well MarN21, welcome to Dubai. I don't know where exactly these "westerners" come from that you have met, but I'm from the US and as for me, and most of the people I know from the US who live in Dubai, don't hate Arabs. Why, I'm even married to one!!!! If you make friends with Emiratis you might find that there are some that aren't very fond of westerners, no matter which western country they came from.
Bora Bora
Dubai OverLord