Requesting - Best Practice In Dealing With EMARATI CITIZENS

Topic locked
Requesting - Best practice in dealing with EMARATI CITIZENS Nov 28, 2010
First of all this is not a racist question, clearly people from different cultures require different modes of communication, right ?

Anywho getting back to the subject at hand. My profession is going to involve lots of negotiations with emarati businessmen/women (industry specific). Hence I would like to kindly request the EMARATI MEN for any tips (not general ones) , on having good negotiation skills with the respected locals. I mean what are the cardinal rules ? that might make it go sour real fast , note ethnically I am INDIAN, so I anticipate lots of resistance to even get them to listen to me, Those of you who have to deal with daily negotiations , your advise would be invaluable.

Also I would like to request the emarati women IF they are present here, In best practices in having meetings with them. I mean strong eye contact and confident manners is an indispensable negotiation tactic, But since they are MUSLIM, what should be properly done ? Can I shake hands with them at the start of the meeting ? What about jokes ? What about giving gifts before starting the meetings or when a meeting is sealed (not to be confused with a bribe, im talking as a good will gesture instead purely for professional purposes)

If I am not clear, please do not hesitate to request a clarification

zubber
Dubai Forums Veteran

Re: Requesting - Best Practice In Dealing With EMARATI CITIZ Nov 28, 2010
There are a few local guys who visit DF, but not frequently. UAEKid shows up the most, and it's only now and then. I believe DK (Dubai Knight) does quite a bit of business with locals and can probably give you info.