Letter To 7 Days Regarding John

Topic locked
Letter to 7 Days regarding John Mar 26, 2009
http://www.7days.ae/storydetails.php?id ... 0situation

The following letter is in 7 Days this morning, anyone know if this is correct?

Dear John,

regarding your strange letter in 7DAYS, I know that there are many people like you in the country who have their passports held by police due to outstanding amounts referring to credit cards, cheques, rents and loans. I am not a lawyer, but to the best of my knowledge, your car loan is not settled which means that your vehicle is still mortgaged by the bank. If you sell it to them, they will be able to close your car-loan amount. As for your personal loans, it states clearly in any bank loan application that in case of death or job loss the bank will not claim the outstanding amount from anyone else. Check the million copies the bank made you sign when you first applied for a loan, read carefully the conditions and then you can stop being chased for it. Any bank rep usually mentions this upon processing the loan papers. Bank loans also happen to be insured by a third party insurance company and will be settled should you not be able to do so in the two circumstances I mentioned. This way you can close this case, collect your passport, stop sleeping in your car and head back home! You’re right, they can’t lock up everyone, otherwise who will chase and settle those who left their vehicles and credit cards at Dubai Airport and fled back home?! Good luck.
Nawaf Abu Ghazaleh
Dubai

sage & onion
Dubai Shadow Wolf

Mar 28, 2009
To an extent I belive this is somewhat correct.

For example, in the America's and elsewhere:
Credit card's and personal loans (some) are "unsecured". The bank takes the rish for a default on the loan. Hence their requirement of certain credit scores, scrutiny of pay and work history etc.