Against The Labor Code?

Topic locked
Against the Labor Code? Jan 07, 2007
Hi I've been working here in Dubai for more than 6 months and still I have no Residence Visa or Employment Visa. We've our boss about this and they told us "Leave that matter to our HR. They're the one who chose who they will give a Residence Visa"... We are direct hired from our own country and if we Resigned early we will pay them approximately AED 4,000+ (I am not sure how much). For past 6 months we have no contract but only an Appointment Letter which indicates how much our salary. And this December they issued a Contract which if you not signed that contract you will not recieved your salary for this month which I think they giving us no option but to sign the contract. And if you can read the contract it states there that every month they will get a US $100.00 in our salary for the protection of the company because some employee is quitting without formal resignation because they will pay as stated before.

I want to help my friends there because majority of them wants to quit but no option. Can you give me any suggestions so I could help my friends, I think Labor Department here in Dubai do not know that some Employer/ Company are not fair for their Employees who is working very far for their Love ones. Hope to here from you guys as soon as possible.[/b]

SPIRO
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Jan 07, 2007
Your company cannot legally employ anyone without sponsoring their visa and going through the proper channels. Please check the Ministry of Labour website and Dubai government website for more info on Labour rules. Good luck!

http://www.mol.gov.ae

http://www.dubai.ae
kanelli
Miss DubaiForums 2006

Reply Jan 07, 2007
Yes you're right we are not Properly employed for 6 months. That's why we cannot go to Labor Minister. And because of we have only holding a Tourist Visa. Every Two months we go to Iran to change Visa. Very difficult for a Professional who is working with them.
SPIRO