Moving From Dubai To Singapore ....Need Advice

Topic locked
Moving from Dubai to Singapore ....Need Advice Jan 20, 2009
Hey guys...I am an IT manager in an MNC based in Dubai ..Single Indian male in late 20's making 32K AED per month( this includes accomodataion , transportation and other allowances)...Few days back I got an Offer from AT&T for their corporate office based in Singapore ...They have offered me S$12,000 ( Including accomodation, transportation ) + medical benefits and Return economy ticket with year end bonus.. I know that AT&T is an Enterprise Level Service provider with HQ in US and Branches across the Globe and is well know Fortune 500 company. I am puzzled regarding this offer as I am not aware of living cost in Singapore.. Also as compared to my compensation in Dubai , am I offered a Fair Package..
Any inputs from u Guru's would be highly appreciated..

Spark
Dubai Forum Visitor

Jan 20, 2009
been to singapore a couple of time, but don't know much about living there. cost of living is high though from what i have read - probably higher than dubai (accom.)

i do know that annual leave entitlements are much lower 21 days odd per year, not the normal 30 you may get now
dbxsoul
Honored Member

Jan 20, 2009
i also believe there is a local tax implication
dbxsoul
Honored Member

Jan 20, 2009
Thanx for ur response dbxsoul.. I heard that taxation wud be nearly 16% for this bracket.. May i request for more feedback from other forum members , if someone has lived in Singapore and also has an idea about the average living cost as compared to dxb
Spark
Dubai Forum Visitor

Jan 20, 2009
I thinks S$12K / month is a decent/good package for a single guy.

SG has gone in to deep recession. So the real estate / rentals have dropped by 20-25%. You should be able to afford a nice apartment with all the facilites for 2-3k depending upon where do you decide to work..