Cost Of Living In Sharjah, Please Help!!!!!

Topic locked
Cost of living in Sharjah, please help!!!!! Feb 12, 2008
Hello,

I'm a student who has recently been given the oppertunity to go to Sharjah for a project. However I know nothing about this emirate state.

Can someone please tell me what:
- Cost of living is in Sharjah?
- If it is possible to share appartments and what these will cost?
- How conservative Sharjah is, I am a women so I really would like to know how the dresscode is and if women can live freely in sharjah??
- What do i need to consider before accepting the project?

The company said they would pay me a 1000euro's a month and pay for my flight ticket. How much more money will I need to be able to live in a good area in Sharjah? Sharing with other expats is also fine.

It's really difficult to find information on the internet so I hope that someone can help me.

Kind regards,
A dutch girl!

Dutchyveendam
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Feb 12, 2008
Well I can give you a rough estimate of what costs will be like here. All in AEd. 1 Euro = 5.25 AED.

Apartment: A decent studio will normally cost about 28000 - 32000 a year while a one bedroom will cost about 37000 - 45000 yearly. If you find someone to share with you can just divide that by 2.

Food & Household: No accurate way to determine this as it depends on you, but I would say the average person will spend about AED 2000 a month shopping for Food and Household items.

Transportation: Of course this also depends on what you are planning on doing. Whether you will rent a car, take cabs or go by bus. Renting a car would likely cost you about AED 2500 per month. It will cost you about 15 - 20 for a 10 km taxi drive. So you may be paying just as much as a rent-a-car. Sorry but don't have much info on buses but I'm sure they are the cheapest of all transport.