Choose A Bank

Topic locked
choose a bank Jul 18, 2006
I am new to Dubai. Looking to open a bank account, get a credit card, etc. Any recommendations. Any horror stories with certain banks.

Please advise.

Thanks.

Raniao
Dubai Forum User

Jul 18, 2006
personally i have HSBC a/cs in hong kong and india...they are great there...but here...they are the pits...have heard real horror stories about them here...including not even issuing an ATM card for a month...the internet banking service is too darn complicated...only in UAE...i bank with emirates bank..and have had excellent service so far...and zero issues...thats just me personally though...
constantine
Dubai Master of Thread Hijackers

Jul 18, 2006
yes my company uses HSBC here and they suck.

Me too i use Emirates Bank and have been more than happy with there service. i recommend them.
MaaaD
Dubai Forums Zealot

Jul 18, 2006
I have NBD. My demands were a bank with no hidden charges, free credit card and good savings programs. They've been true to that so far. But as with everything else here, the account opening process was long and tedious....and their customer service isn't the best.
mraph33
Dubai Expat Helper

Jul 18, 2006
mraph33 wrote:But as with everything else here, the account opening process was long and tedious....and their customer service isn't the best.

actually i opened my account online with Emiraets bank !!! it was nice quick and easy
MaaaD
Dubai Forums Zealot

Jul 18, 2006
emirates bank - me bank.. they are really good and good internet banking .....
Corcovado
Dubai Forums Veteran

Jul 18, 2006
I bank with Comercial Bank of Dubai but thats only becuase my company do ... that way they can pay my pay cheque directly into my account without me having to be here to pick it up!!

However saying that - they are pretty useless ... they sort everything out but eventually!!!
Cargirl
Dubai forums Addict

Jul 18, 2006