Jamie Cullum Live At Skywards Dubai International Jazz Fest

Topic locked
Jamie Cullum live at Skywards Dubai International Jazz Fest Jan 23, 2007
Dynamic British singer, songwriter, and pianist Jamie Cullum will be playing live at the Skywards Dubai International Jazz Festival on March 10, 2007.

Chillout Productions have confirmed the presence of the scruffy, self-taught British pianist/singer/songwriter, Jamie Cullum, at the 5th edition of the Skywards Dubai International Jazz Festival 2007.

Jamie can create music to which both seasoned jazz fans and young pop fanatics have responded earnestly. Jamie is not just another music fad. His major label debut, “Twentysomething”, has not only made Jamie a star, but has set the records as the fastest-selling jazz debut in UK history, where it was certified Platinum in just six weeks!

“To categorize Jamie’s music as Jazz is doing him injustice because to some, Jazz is now considered largely mired in the past. However, at the same time, Cullum is not even one of those sort of a fad, glittery bubble gum wanna-be musicians. He doesn’t even fall between any styles. This HYPER LAD simply laces his original jazzy tunes with modern hip-hop, rock or even folk accents, leaving you in a relaxed and comfortable state of mind where you’d feel more secure to the future of music where piano men will be as exciting as lead guitar players!”

Jamie celebrates jazz through his original material and retrofits standards to accommodate elements of the music he grew up with, from rock to rap to drum & bass.

And in one of his interviews Jamie said: "I'm pulling in loads of elements from all these different areas, and then making my own sound out of them all. I'm not interested in being some kind of museum piece, and I don't want to present my music in a way that's old fashioned. I'm not wearing a suit, and I don't stand still when I'm singing. I'm jumping off the piano."